recovery takes a holiday

June 29, 2006 at 6:14 pm 4 comments

So I’m in St. Louis this week to see two friends ordained as priests in the Episcopal church. It’s a pretty overwhelming prospect, having friends who are priests I mean. One of them is only 25. She’ll be able to bless my car and give me holy water before I drive home.

I guess that means that they can’t testify against me in a court of law, so horray for the priesthood.

I don’t envy my friends who have to split their time between New Orleans and someplace else. It’s heart-wrenchingly difficult not to be there. I’d originally thought that this trip – my first time leaving the city since I returned in October – would be a great opportunity for me to recharge myself, but I find that all I think about is New Orleans. I miss the coffee and my cats. I miss the architecture, the fact that people actually seem to have a purpose, and I even miss the community meetings. I miss the contentious nature of a public dialogue in which people feel passionately about civic issues. I miss New Orleans.

Entry filed under: New Orleans, personal, recovery.

Recovery? It’s no sweat! update on st. louis

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Becky  |  July 3, 2006 at 6:33 am

    What an amazing time to be ordained, with Katharine Jefferts Schori just elected presiding bishop. Forget evangelicals, Episcopalians are the theological/political vanguard du jour. Good luck to your friends.

    On another note, I never knew Episcopal priests could bless cars, but I did visit a Shinto shrine once where you could have demons exorcised from new cars. Apparently demons come standard in Japanese cars. Maybe cars everywhere – it would explain a lot.

    Reply
  • 2. Sarah  |  July 4, 2006 at 10:57 pm

    You’re right that it’s an exciting time for my friends to be entering careers in the Episcopal Church. Both of them are passionately faithful and extremely politically progressive, and this gives them a chance to live lives dedicated to both. I’ve never been much of a religious person, but visiting them at seminary, attending classes with them, and getting to know their friends has truly awed me – both in the intellecutual depth of their faith and their desire to use the ministry for social change.

    In terms of the car, I do drive a Toyota so maybe it is only Japanese cars. At any rate, it got me home safely so I”ll choose to believe that it worked.

    Reply
  • 3. filipino sex scandal video  |  April 29, 2007 at 9:24 pm

    filipino sex scandal video

    Info about filipino sex scandal video.

    Reply
  • 4. texas real estate company  |  May 31, 2007 at 9:26 pm

    texas real estate company

    Popular authors of texas real estate company articles

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2006
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


