tag team planning

June 17, 2006 at 4:00 pm Leave a comment

I'll be trying to make it to two meetings today: Alfredo Sanches' presentation to residents of planning district 5 and the Gentilly Civic Improvement Association housing committee. Of course they are taking place at exactly the same time, 1-3pm. This makes me strangely annoyed, as though Lakeview and Genitlly were colluding to ensure that I miss out on neighborhood planning breakthroughs. What if there were some revelation of the public will?

Or worse… what if I forgot about something I'd promised to do. I've never really bought into the anthropological ideology, but this participant observation stuff is tough. I'm constantly asking myself iterations of the same question: What skews my analysis more? Participating in planning as a concerned citizen of New Orleans, or the artifice of forced neutrality. There's an exhilarating dissonance that comes from flinging myself into this from both sides.

Entry filed under: gentilly, lakeview, meetings, planning, recovery.

so apparently this is a blog i guess gentilly will have to wait

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2006
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


